Engine/Performance 17' STi turboback - Socal Subaru Forum For SoCal Subaru Enthusiasts: SoCalSubies.com
Join Now  
SoCal Subies Forum SoCal Subies Facebook
SoCal Subies Twitter
Coming Soon
SoCal Subies YouTube
Home Forums Mark Forums Read
Go Back   Socal Subies > Garage Talk > Subaru Technical > Engine/Performance: 17' STi turboback

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-18-2017, 01:21 PM   #1
TinMansSTi
Newbie
 
Car: 17' WRX STi
Fav Mod: Unknown
Location: SLO
SoCalSubies Addict since: Jan 2017
Posts: 13


TinMansSTi is learning the ropes
Default 17' STi turboback

Hey peeps,
I currently have a 17' STi and have been enjoying the stage 1+ cobb map with their intake system, but I believe its time to upgrade my turboback exhaust with a cobb system.

I asked on their forum about what map to use after this mod but they said I had to also add: COBB 725cc Injectors, COBB Fuel Pump, COBB Fuel Pressure Regulator Conversion, COBB FPR Reference Line Relocation Kit

Do I need all of this to just put a turbo back exhaust on?
TinMansSTi is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-18-2017, 03:06 PM   #2
Zzyzx85
Ultra Member
 
Zzyzx85's Avatar
 
Fav Mod: balance of everything
Location: Cypress
SoCalSubies Addict since: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,911


Zzyzx85 is progressing nicely
Default

Not really. For a turboback (which includes a downpipe), you would need at least a "stage 2+" map since you already have an intake. An OTS map would be OK but you should get some datalogs to make sure your car is running safely as OTS maps are "one size fits all" and don't account for minor variations in cars.

You can add a catback without reflashing. You get the noise but no added performance increase.

It sounds like they're trying to sell you an upgrade package along with the pro-tune.

Last edited by Zzyzx85; 04-28-2017 at 11:52 AM..
Zzyzx85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2017, 06:10 PM   #3
TinMansSTi
Newbie
 
Car: 17' WRX STi
Fav Mod: Unknown
Location: SLO
SoCalSubies Addict since: Jan 2017
Posts: 13


TinMansSTi is learning the ropes
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zzyzx85 View Post
Not really. For a turboback (which includes a downpipe), you would need at least a "stage 2+" map since you already have an intake. An OTS map would be OK but you should get some datalogs to make sure your car is running safely as OTS maps are "one size fits all" and don't account for minor variations in cars.

You can add a catback without reflashing. You get the noise buy no added performance increase.

It sounds like they're trying to sell you an upgrade package along with the pro-tune.

Since Cobb doesnt have a stage 2+ map, how would I get one? Do I have to go to a protuner for that map?
TinMansSTi is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-25-2017, 09:28 AM   #4
fiftyunofifty
Member
 
fiftyunofifty's Avatar
 
Fav Mod: Driver MOD
Location: Glendale
SoCalSubies Addict since: Aug 2014
Posts: 197


fiftyunofifty is learning the ropes
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TinMansSTi View Post
Since Cobb doesnt have a stage 2+ map, how would I get one? Do I have to go to a protuner for that map?
yes, a protune would be required.
fiftyunofifty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2017, 10:12 AM   #5
Tarmac Junkie
Ultimate Postwhore
 
Tarmac Junkie's Avatar
 
Car: 1994 Honda Civic
Fav Mod: The Driver
Location: Huntington Beach
SoCalSubies Addict since: Nov 2008
Posts: 6,982


Tarmac Junkie is progressing nicely
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TinMansSTi View Post
Since Cobb doesnt have a stage 2+ map, how would I get one? Do I have to go to a protuner for that map?
You can download different maps off the COBB site. You can load it on the ap and flash the car after that. Some mods do require a custom tune though.


John
__________________
FB:Corner Speed Tuning
IG: Corner Speed Tuning
PH: 714-892-2525
Tarmac Junkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2017, 08:04 PM   #6
TinMansSTi
Newbie
 
Car: 17' WRX STi
Fav Mod: Unknown
Location: SLO
SoCalSubies Addict since: Jan 2017
Posts: 13


TinMansSTi is learning the ropes
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fiftyunofifty View Post
yes, a protune would be required.
Yeah I thought so, guess Im going to have to look some protuners close to San Luis Obispo. Anyone know of any?
TinMansSTi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.